#ArtistsFightBack - A Campaign by Artists, Creatives, and Cultural Workers in Response to the Anti-Terrorism Bill


We, the free artists and cultural workers of the nation, strongly condemn the swift and reckless passing of HB 6875 or The Anti-Terrorism Bill (ATB), as well as the manner in which it was voted on.

Coming from various disciplines—actors, writers, directors, producers, musicians, designers, visual and performing artists, cultural workers, etc.—and cultural organizations, we are one in our call to #JunkTerrorBillNow.

It is true that the Filipino people need and deserve protection from possible acts of terrorism. But it is paramount for legislators, whose mandate is to serve the interest of the public, to ensure that the basic human rights of those they are sworn to serve are never compromised.

We, the signatories of this statement, have done our duty as citizens by studying the bill and discussing it amongst our peers and lawyers alike. It is clear: the Anti-Terrorism Act of 2020 is filled with provisions that make it problematic and prone to abuse.

A standout example for us in the creative sector is its Section 9: (Inciting to Commit Terrorism), where it is stated that any person who, despite the lack of a direct part in it, incites others to commit or participate in acts that the bill considers as terrorist may be jailed for up to 12 years.

As artists, we are vulnerable to the subjectivity and the impreciseness of this section. Our job, quite literally, is to incite. To trigger emotion and to question. To move. To mobilize. Our responsibility is to serve the truth, whether or not it is aligned or in accordance with the government’s stance. This is a clear impingement on the Constitutional right to freedom of expression, not just of artists, but of any Filipino who should be allowed to express dissent.

As artists, we commit to lending our individual platforms to ensuring that our countrymen’s civil liberties aren’t encroached upon by the ATB. As citizens, we commit to vigilance and the duty of dissent.

We encourage our fellow Filipinos to honor their voices by not keeping quiet in the advent of oppression: reach out to our lawmakers and tell them why we are against this dangerous bill.

We remind our legislators: the public gave you your seats. We demand that they be used in their service.

Lastly, we appeal to President Duterte to carefully review the contents of the bill before signing it into law.

We are this nation’s storytellers. We are watching, and we will act.


Active Vista | Altermidya | Ang Sabi Nila | Arkeo Films | Atsara Collective | Bahaghari | Buklod Sining Alumni Society | Buklod Sining Student Organization | Cavite Young Writers Association | Cinema is Incomplete | CollaboratoryPH | Concerned Artists of the Philippines (CAP) | Daang Dokyu | DAKILA - Philippine Collective for Modern Heroism | Directors Guild of the Philippines, Inc. (DGPI) | Dokyupeeps | Filipino Students' Association - Auckland | Free the Artist Movement (FAM) | Fringe Manila | Inter-Guild Alliance | Kalimbahin | KM64 | Komunidad X | Lapis Art Community | Let's Organize for Democracy and Integrity (LODI) Arts and Media Alliance | Linangan sa Imahen, Retorika, at Anyo (LIRA) | Manunuri ng Pelikulang Pilipino | Mga Apo ni Lola Basyang | National Union of Journalists of the Philippines (NUJP) | North Luzon Cinema Guild | Para sa Sining | Philippine Educational Theater Association (PETA) | Pineapple Lab | Regional Art Forum | RESBAK | Sipat Lawin | Storytellers International Inc. | Surian ng Sining, Inc. (SUSI) | Tadhana Collective | Tag-ani Performing Arts Society |Talastasan TV | Teatrong Bayan | This Side Up Manila | TulaSalitaanPH | True Colors Coalition | University of the Philippines Film Institute (UPFI) | UPSTAGE | #WeTheFuturePH | White Wall Poetry | Words Anonymous | Xplicit | 2TinCans Philippines |
1,700 signatures

Will you join us? Sign the petition here:

  • Kyle Edward Berran
    signed 2020-06-10 10:45:39 +0800
    Visual Artist
  • Denis Judilla
    signed 2020-06-10 10:43:34 +0800
    I am a writer based in Cebu City, Philippines and I agree that the provisions in the Anti-terrorism Act of 2020 can be exploited to justify abuse and assaults by authorities on those they would find inappropriate, inconvenient and importunate! This bill doesn’t address the present crisis, it’s not necessary and shouldn’t be a priority.

    Ang HB6875 ay pagbubusal sa mamamayang Pilipino ng mga maramot sa kapangyarihan na handang pabyaan ang mga malamang malupit na panunuheto dulot ng batas ito.
  • Jeremiah Rafanan
    signed 2020-06-10 10:20:38 +0800
  • Abigail Bautista
    signed 2020-06-10 10:16:55 +0800
    Supporter of Artists who wants to maintain freedom
  • Kristina David
    signed 2020-06-10 10:09:25 +0800
  • Carlo Mendoza
    signed via 2020-06-10 10:06:45 +0800
  • Sam Liporada
    signed 2020-06-10 10:06:28 +0800
    prod work
  • Caroline Francisco
    signed 2020-06-10 09:45:26 +0800
  • Jay Panganiban
    signed 2020-06-10 09:43:27 +0800
  • Ana Marika Francisco
    signed 2020-06-10 09:30:54 +0800
    Film worker
  • Dino Manrique
    signed 2020-06-10 09:29:43 +0800
    I am a writer and I support the call to #JunkTerrorBillNow &

  • Ruthy Libatique
    signed 2020-06-10 09:22:04 +0800
  • gerome soriano
    signed 2020-06-10 09:04:47 +0800
  • Jeremiah Capacillo
    signed 2020-06-10 08:43:27 +0800
    Advertising copywriter
  • Allie Noel
    signed 2020-06-10 08:31:32 +0800
  • Paolo Arago
    signed 2020-06-10 08:31:30 +0800
  • Ally b
    signed 2020-06-10 08:23:06 +0800
  • Juvenal Moraleda
    signed 2020-06-10 08:22:39 +0800
  • lyndon f.
    signed 2020-06-10 08:20:03 +0800
    healthcare worker
  • Jao Maderazo
    signed 2020-06-10 08:09:53 +0800
  • Jet cornejo
    signed 2020-06-10 08:06:21 +0800
  • Virgilio Reoma
    signed 2020-06-10 07:51:48 +0800

    Group Animator
  • Ashley Rapuano
    signed 2020-06-10 07:47:51 +0800
  • Elizabeth Lolarga
    signed 2020-06-10 07:46:11 +0800
  • Sophia Quesada
    signed 2020-06-10 07:44:56 +0800
  • Micheal McCabe
    signed 2020-06-10 07:42:49 +0800
    Set Designer
  • Maria Castro
    signed 2020-06-10 07:38:01 +0800
    Writer. No to Terror Bill
  • Angela Abeleda
    signed 2020-06-10 07:29:55 +0800
  • Clarence Leocadio
    signed 2020-06-10 07:28:19 +0800
  • Vince Roque
    signed via 2020-06-10 07:23:10 +0800
    Visual/Theatre Artist