#ArtistsFightBack - A Campaign by Artists, Creatives, and Cultural Workers in Response to the Anti-Terrorism Bill


We, the free artists and cultural workers of the nation, strongly condemn the swift and reckless passing of HB 6875 or The Anti-Terrorism Bill (ATB), as well as the manner in which it was voted on.

Coming from various disciplines—actors, writers, directors, producers, musicians, designers, visual and performing artists, cultural workers, etc.—and cultural organizations, we are one in our call to #JunkTerrorBillNow.

It is true that the Filipino people need and deserve protection from possible acts of terrorism. But it is paramount for legislators, whose mandate is to serve the interest of the public, to ensure that the basic human rights of those they are sworn to serve are never compromised.

We, the signatories of this statement, have done our duty as citizens by studying the bill and discussing it amongst our peers and lawyers alike. It is clear: the Anti-Terrorism Act of 2020 is filled with provisions that make it problematic and prone to abuse.

A standout example for us in the creative sector is its Section 9: (Inciting to Commit Terrorism), where it is stated that any person who, despite the lack of a direct part in it, incites others to commit or participate in acts that the bill considers as terrorist may be jailed for up to 12 years.

As artists, we are vulnerable to the subjectivity and the impreciseness of this section. Our job, quite literally, is to incite. To trigger emotion and to question. To move. To mobilize. Our responsibility is to serve the truth, whether or not it is aligned or in accordance with the government’s stance. This is a clear impingement on the Constitutional right to freedom of expression, not just of artists, but of any Filipino who should be allowed to express dissent.

As artists, we commit to lending our individual platforms to ensuring that our countrymen’s civil liberties aren’t encroached upon by the ATB. As citizens, we commit to vigilance and the duty of dissent.

We encourage our fellow Filipinos to honor their voices by not keeping quiet in the advent of oppression: reach out to our lawmakers and tell them why we are against this dangerous bill.

We remind our legislators: the public gave you your seats. We demand that they be used in their service.

Lastly, we appeal to President Duterte to carefully review the contents of the bill before signing it into law.

We are this nation’s storytellers. We are watching, and we will act.


Active Vista | Altermidya | Ang Sabi Nila | Arkeo Films | Atsara Collective | Bahaghari | Buklod Sining Alumni Society | Buklod Sining Student Organization | Cavite Young Writers Association | Cinema is Incomplete | CollaboratoryPH | Concerned Artists of the Philippines (CAP) | Daang Dokyu | DAKILA - Philippine Collective for Modern Heroism | Directors Guild of the Philippines, Inc. (DGPI) | Dokyupeeps | Filipino Students' Association - Auckland | Free the Artist Movement (FAM) | Fringe Manila | Inter-Guild Alliance | Kalimbahin | KM64 | Komunidad X | Lapis Art Community | Let's Organize for Democracy and Integrity (LODI) Arts and Media Alliance | Linangan sa Imahen, Retorika, at Anyo (LIRA) | Manunuri ng Pelikulang Pilipino | Mga Apo ni Lola Basyang | National Union of Journalists of the Philippines (NUJP) | North Luzon Cinema Guild | Para sa Sining | Philippine Educational Theater Association (PETA) | Pineapple Lab | Regional Art Forum | RESBAK | Sipat Lawin | Storytellers International Inc. | Surian ng Sining, Inc. (SUSI) | Tadhana Collective | Tag-ani Performing Arts Society |Talastasan TV | Teatrong Bayan | This Side Up Manila | TulaSalitaanPH | True Colors Coalition | University of the Philippines Film Institute (UPFI) | UPSTAGE | #WeTheFuturePH | White Wall Poetry | Words Anonymous | Xplicit | 2TinCans Philippines |
1,700 signatures

Will you join us? Sign the petition here:

  • Gweneth Gutierrez
    signed 2020-06-24 23:31:06 +0800
    Student Leader/Advocate
  • Joan Palaganas
    signed 2020-06-24 12:08:09 +0800
    Supporting Sophia Atayde ❤️
  • Katherine Cabigon
    signed 2020-06-24 11:50:44 +0800
  • Paola Parreño
    signed 2020-06-24 10:51:16 +0800
  • Jemi Alba
    signed 2020-06-17 23:28:16 +0800
  • Mariel Annarose Nicole Alonzo
    signed 2020-06-17 15:15:54 +0800
  • Jewel Chuaunsu
    signed 2020-06-17 12:43:35 +0800
  • Marz Aglipay
    signed 2020-06-17 11:25:42 +0800
    Art writer – Stamp Artist. Making art is an essential voice of freedom. Let’s not let this unconstitutional bill weaponize our work against us.
  • Mary Grace Paneda
    signed 2020-06-16 17:35:25 +0800
    As a journalistic and literary writer, my power with letters and words are threatened and can be easily used as a weapon against my own self. As a public speaker, my loud voice for and to the voiceless that I use with conviction can get me convicted. This anti-terror bill is a terror bill in disguise.
  • Sofia del Carmen
    signed 2020-06-16 15:21:11 +0800
  • Jeremiah Bohol
    signed 2020-06-16 08:18:56 +0800
    Visual artist
  • Jun Lazo
    signed 2020-06-16 05:55:15 +0800
  • Ж .
    signed 2020-06-16 00:29:28 +0800
  • ian madrigal
    signed 2020-06-15 18:16:37 +0800
    visual artist
  • Jere Faustino
    signed via 2020-06-15 13:48:06 +0800
    I am an illustrator. I do not support the Anti-Terror Bill. I do not support any initiative of this government to quash our freedom to criticize, comment, and provide feedback to the government and its activities by vilifying such critics. They speak of holding journalists to high standards. Well, we should all hold the government to high standards as well.
  • Bernice Roldan
    signed 2020-06-15 12:05:32 +0800
  • Arlene Aquino
    signed 2020-06-15 04:30:03 +0800
  • Elaine Cabale
    signed 2020-06-15 02:39:54 +0800
  • Miro Valera
    signed via 2020-06-15 00:05:55 +0800
  • Pio Abad
    signed 2020-06-14 23:24:01 +0800
    Visual Artist
  • melissa pelez
    signed 2020-06-14 19:15:08 +0800
    visual artist
  • Josephine Rose Cagas
    signed 2020-06-14 16:39:44 +0800
  • angelica colmenares
    signed 2020-06-14 16:12:38 +0800
  • Dane Afuang Afuang
    signed 2020-06-14 15:32:06 +0800
  • Allen Galindo
    signed 2020-06-14 15:00:15 +0800
  • Chuck Gutierrez
    signed 2020-06-14 13:35:26 +0800
  • Martin Louis Untalan
    signed 2020-06-14 13:27:55 +0800
    TV Production Staff
  • Mia Sereno
    signed 2020-06-14 12:36:15 +0800
    aka Likhain. Visual artist, writer, 2020 Ani ng Dangal awardee. It is our duty to speak. Silence is annihilation.
  • Olivia Cleofas
    signed 2020-06-14 10:16:57 +0800
    2nd year music student
  • Angel
    signed 2020-06-14 10:00:39 +0800